Search Gabriola Island only?

Share this page


Gabriola Island Local Trustee Corner

Scott Colbourne
Scott ColbourneGabriola Island Trustee778-679-1110
Kees Langereis
Kees LangereisGabriola Island Trustee250-247-8281

Scott Colbourne,  serving his first term on the Islands Trust, identifies as a writer, visitor and renter near xʷ cumi:lucun, or Twin Beaches, in Snuneymuxw First Nation territory on the island now called Gabriola.  He is a former editor and columnist at The Globe and Mail, and was recently certified as a firefighter with the Gabriola Volunteer Fire Department.  he co-sponsored Trust Council's climate-health emergency declaration in march of 2019.

Kees Langereis is in his first term as a local trustee for the Gabriola Island Trust Committee.  He has been a resident of Gabriola since 1978 and seen it grow from about 1600 residents with only one doctor and no pharmacy to what we have today.  He was employed by the BC Ministry of Social Development and Poverty Reduction.  His career with that Ministry began as a field worker and district supervisor in Vancouver and Nanaimo and ended as a policy analyst and legislation manager in Victoria for the last 10 years before retirement.  He is currently a member of the Islands Trust's Local Planning Committee.  

Gabriola Trustee Office Hours suspended until further notice 

Due to concerns regarding the COVID 19 virus, Trustee Office Hours at the Islands Trust Northern Office are suspended until further notice.  In the absence of in-person office hours, Trustees Langereis and Colbourne encourage you to contact them by email or phone.  

Enquiries may also be sent to or call 250-247-2063 for the Islands Trust Northern Office reception.

Trustee Notebook 

Previous Trustees  

  • 2014 to 2018 - Melanie Mamoser and Heather O'Sullivan
  • 2011 to 2014 - Gisele Rudischer and Sheila Malcolmson
  • 2008 to 2011 - Deborah Ferens and Sheila Malcolmson
  • 2005 to 2008 - Sheila Malcolmson and Gisele Rudischer
  • 2002 to 2005 - Sheila Malcolmson and Gisele Rudischer
  • 1999 to 2002 - Gail Lund and Gisele Rudischer
  • 1996 to 1999 - Gail Lund and Gisele Rudischer
  • 1993 to 1996 - Julian Guntensperger and Susan Yates
  • 1990 to 1993 - Joan Best and Jack Sickavish
  • 1988 to 1990 - Jack Sickavish and Susan Yates
  • 1986 to 1988 - Russell Bates and Susan Yates
  • 1984 to 1986 - Russell Bates and Graham Sheehan
  • 1982 to 1984 - Russell Bates and Graham Sheehan
  • 1980 to 1982 - Nelder Boulton and James Tyhurst
  • 1978 to 1980 - Nelder Boulton and James Tyhurst
  • 1974 to 1976 - Bruce Adkins and Kathleen Hiley
  • 1976 to 1978 - Terry Hanna and James Tyhurst 

Other Documents

2014-2018 Term Archived Newsletters
2011-2014 Term Archived Newsletters   

















Page last updated: 18/09/20
© Islands Trust. All Rights Reserved.