Share this page


Water Organizations


The BC Ministry of environmental has the authority to regulate water use and drinking water protection. See the provincial government water website for more resources including, Water Quantity, Drought and Flooding, Water Quality, Groundwater Wells and Water Conservation information.

Regional Districts

Regional Districts in the Trust Area provide various water services including watershed protection programs and water conservation information.

Regional District of Nanaimo (De Courcy, Gabriola, Mudge)

Capital Regional District (Galiano, Mayne, Piers, Prevost, North and South Pender, Salt Spring, Saturna, Sidney)

Comox Valley Regional District (Denman, Hornby)

Cowichan Valley (Thetis, Valdes)

Metro Vancouver (Bowen, Bowyer, Passage)

Powell River (Lasqueti)

Sunshine Coast (Gambier, Keats) 

Improvement Districts

Improvement Districts provide local water services in the Trust Area. Search Civic Info BC to contact improvement districts near you.

Local Water Groups

There are various local water groups in the Trust Area.

Gabriola Groundwater Management Society

Hornby Water Stewardship Project

Mayne Island Integrated Water Systems Society

Buck Lake Property Owners Association (North Pender)

Salt Spring Island Water Council

Salt Spring Island Water Preservation Society

Salt Spring Island Watershed Protection Alliance

Saturna Water Conservation Committee

Page last updated: 28/11/18
© Islands Trust. All Rights Reserved.