

News Release

200 - 1627 Fort Street Victoria B.C. | V8R 1H8
Telephone 250.405.5151 | FAX: 250.405.5155
Toll Free via Service BC in Vancouver 604.660.2421 | in B.C. 1.800.663.7867
information@islandstrust.bc.ca | www.islandstrust.bc.ca

November 25, 2022 – for immediate release

2022-21-IT

Islands Trust Council Chair Appoints New Chairs of Local Trust Committees

 $La\dot{k}$ waŋan, METULIYE/Victoria, B.C. – On November 24, 2022, Chair Peter Luckham appointed the chairs for each of the 12 local trust committees in the Islands Trust Area (see attached list). As guided by the *Islands Trust Act*, the Islands Trust Chair appoints local trust committee chairs from the four members of the Executive Committee.

The appointed chairs will now join two local trustees, elected during October's general local elections, to form the local trust committee for each group of islands designated as a local trust area.

Local trust committees are responsible for land use planning and regulation. Responsibilities include preparation and adoption of official community plans, zoning and subdivision bylaws, regulation of soil removal and deposit, and authorization of permits.

The Islands Trust Executive Committee for the 2022-2026 term was confirmed last week at the first meeting of the Islands Trust Council. The members are: Trustee **Peter Luckham** from the Thetis Island Local Trust Area (Chair). Trustee **Tobi Elliott** from the Gabriola Island Local Trust Area (Vice-Chair), Trustee **David Maude** from the Mayne Island Local Trust Area (Vice-Chair), and Trustee **Timothy Peterson** from the Lasqueti Island Local Trust Area (Vice-Chair).

The Islands Trust Executive Committee oversees daily business of the Islands Trust between quarterly meetings of the entire Council. It has legislated responsibilities to consider approval of bylaws developed by local trust committees and Bowen Island Municipality. In addition, the Executive Committee acts as a local trust committee for the Ballenas-Winchelsea Islands Local Trust Area.

For Bowen Island Municipality, the two municipal trustees are part of a seven-member council that is responsible for all functions of a local government, including land use decisions.

-30 -

About Islands Trust

Islands Trust is a special-purpose government representing over 30,000 people living within the Islands Trust Area and 10,000 non-resident property owners. The Islands Trust Area is located within Coast Salish territory and is the homeland to many Coast Salish Peoples who have called this place home since time immemorial. Islands Trust is responsible for preserving and protecting the Islands Trust Area's unique amenities and environment through conservation-oriented land use planning and regulation, education, and cooperation with First Nations and other agencies. The Islands Trust Area covers the islands and waters between the British Columbia mainland and southern Vancouver Island. It includes 13 major islands and more than 450 smaller islands covering 5,200 square kilometres.

CONTACT

Peter Luckham, Chair, Islands Trust Council, 250.210.2553 Russ Hotsenpiller c/o Clare Frater, Director, Trust Area Services 250.405.5192

Preserving and protecting over 450 islands and surrounding waters in the Salish Sea

Bowen, Denman, Gabriola, Galiano, Gambier, Hornby, Lasqueti, Mayne, N. Pender, Salt Spring, Saturna, S. Pender, Thetis

LOCAL TRUST COMMITTEE CHAIR ASSIGNMENTS

Ballenas-Winchelsea Local Trust Committee

Peter Luckham

Denman Island Local Trust Committee

David Maude

Gabriola Island Local Trust Committee

Peter Luckham

Galiano Island Local Trust Committee

Timothy Peterson

Gambier Island Local Trust Committee

Peter Luckham

Hornby Island Local Trust Committee

Timothy Peterson

Lasqueti Island Local Trust Committee

Tobi Elliott

Mayne Island Local Trust Committee

Tobi Elliott

North Pender Island Local Trust Committee

David Maude

Salt Spring Island Local Trust Committee

Timothy Peterson

Saturna Island Local Trust Committee

David Maude

South Pender Island Local Trust Committee

Tobi Elliott

Thetis Island Local Trust Committee

Tobi Elliott

