CAO Hiring Committee

A Chief Administrative Officer Hiring Committee (CAOHC) is formed when needed, to begin the process of hiring a chief administrative officer (CAO).  The CAOHC consists of the Executive Committee (EC) and the chairs of Trust Council’s four standing committees.

Roles and Responsibilities

Following this January 8, 2024 news release, the Chief Administrative Officer Hiring Committee was formed.

Related policies, legislation, and supporting information

Policy 2.4.1 – Executive Committee Terms of Reference

  • Section 9 describes EC’s role and responsibilities as CAO liaison.
  • Attachment 1 to Policy 2.4.1 (pages 4-5) – Chief Administrative Officer Hiring Committee Terms of Reference – Consultation with Trust Council during a hiring process

Policy 2.3.1  – Council Committee System and Terms of Reference

Policy 8.4.1 – Chief Administrative Officer Contingency Succession Plan

Public Service Act


Peter Luckham – Islands Trust Council Chair
Thetis Island Trustee


Laura Patrick – Chair, Regional Planning Committee
Salt Spring Island Trustee

Support Staff

E: Director of Legislative Services

T: 1-250-405-5169


Tobi Elliott – Executive Committee
Gabriola Island Trustee

David Maude – Executive Committee
Mayne Island Trustee

Timothy Peterson – Executive Committee
Lasqueti Island Trustee

Kristina Evans – Chair, Trust Programs Committee
South Pender Island Trustee

Joe Bernardo – Chair, Financial Planning Committee
Gambier Island Trustee

Judith Gedye – Chair, Governance Committee
Bowen Island Trustee

Islands Trust CAO Opportunity –  Profile Posted June 25, 2024

Update to Trust Council on Hiring Process

March  14, 2024, briefing to Trust Council on next steps in the process of hiring a new chief administrative officer.


Click on the links below to view previous and upcoming Chief Administrative Officer Hiring Committee meetings, documents, and recordings:

Other pages you might be interested in: